The quartet KLIO is dedicated to simplicity.
For them, simplicity means to surrender everything unnecessary, to leave room for the musicians and listeners to become fully immersed in the experience.
The full shape of their compositions only truly unfold through improvisation, stretching the framework of each composition to acknowledge and appreciate the presence of all participants – both of the performers and the listeners.
The challenge for the musicians lies in engaging with the unplanned and unforseeable. Bravery is required to make decisions, to lead, and to allow oneself to be led. Or to simply enjoy silence.

Philipp Harnisch / Saxophone
Verena Zeiner / Piano
Judith Ferstl / Bass
Mathias Koch / Drums


Klio is featured in the brochure "Jazz from Austria" published by Austrian Music Export

Photos by Paul Zeiner.